Words of Wisdom from C.T. Studd

Charles Thomas Studd was an English missionary to China, India, and Africa.  He spent the last 20 years of his life in one of the least evangelized parts of the world (the Belgian Congo) in the early 20th century.  The advice he gave to the native converts who were going to travel throughout the villages sharing the gospel is as follows:

1.  If you don’t desire to meet the Devil during the day, meet Jesus before dawn.

2.  If you don’t want the Devil to hit you, hit him first, and hit him with all your might, so that he may be too crippled to hit back. ‘Preach the Word’ is the rod the Devil fears and hates.

3.  If you don’t want to fall–walk, and walk straight and walk fast!”

4.  Three of the Devil’s dogs with which he hunts us are:  Swelled head, Laziness, and Cupidity [i.e. strong desire, especially for money and possessions]

Not just great advice for evangelists!

About C. M. Granger

I'm a firm believer in God's sovereignty, man's responsibility, and a gracious orthodoxy. I love the Puritans and the Reformers, but I don't believe our understanding of theology reached it's zenith in the 16th and 17th centuries. I love the Reformed Creeds and Confessions, but I'm not a strict confessionalist. I'm Reformed in my soteriology (I'm a moderate Calvinist), but not in the historical sense of the term (I'm a Baptist). Some of my favorite theologians/commentators are Kevin Vanhoozer, John Frame, D.A. Carson, Thomas Schreiner, Andreas Kostenberger, Peter O'Brien, David Peterson, Douglas Moo, and GK Beale. The list of dead theologians/commentators would be too long to list here. I think it's important to read widely, to read primary sources for yourself, and to accurately represent the positions of those whom you oppose. I believe it's imperative to have a proper balance between systematic and bibilical theology. I try to never make a round verse fit into the square hole of a theological system.
This entry was posted in Great Quotes, Missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

